Study Helps


    The fifth book of the Old Testament.

    Deuteronomy contains the three last discourses of Moses, which he delivered in the plains of Moab just before he was translated. The first discourse (chapters 1–4) is introductory. The second discourse (chapters 5–26) consists of two parts: (1) chapters 5–11—the Ten Commandments and a practical explanation of them; and (2) chapters 12–26—a code of laws, which forms the nucleus of the whole book. The third discourse (chapters 27–30) contains a solemn renewal of the covenant between Israel and God and an announcement of the blessings that follow obedience and the curses that follow disobedience. Chapters 31–34 describe the delivery of the law to the Levites, Moses’ song and last blessing, and the departure of Moses.