Study Helps


    The word means “repetition of the law.” The book contains the three last discourses of Moses delivered in the plains of Moab just before his death (translation). The first discourse is found in Deut. 1–4 and is introductory. The second discourse (Deut. 5–26) consists of two parts: (1) 5–11, the Ten Commandments and a practical exposition of them, (2) 12–26, a code of laws, which forms the nucleus of the whole book. The first group of laws deals with the ritual of religion and begins with a command to destroy all idolatrous objects of worship in Canaan; only one central place for worship of Jehovah is to be allowed. Then follow special instances of enticement to false worship and rules about food and about tithe. Then we have the law of debt, directions about firstlings, and a calendar of festivals. The next group of laws deals with the administration of justice, while the last group regulates private and social rights. The third discourse (Deut. 27–30) contains a solemn renewal of the covenant and an announcement of the blessings of obedience and the curses upon disobedience. In Deut. 31–34 we have an account of the delivery of the law to the Levites, Moses’ song and last blessing, and the departure of Moses.

    Deuteronomy is referenced frequently in the New Testament: Matt. 4:4, Deut. 8:3; Matt. 4:7, Deut. 6:16; Matt. 4:10, Deut. 6:13; Matt. 5:31, Deut. 24:1; Mark 12:30, Deut. 6:5; Acts 3:22, Deut. 18:15, 18; 1 Cor. 9:9, Deut. 25:4; 2 Cor. 13:1, Deut. 19:15; Gal. 3:13, Deut. 21:23; Rom. 10:6–8, Deut. 30:12, 14.