Hi! I’m Enkhjin from Mongolia
June 2013

“Hi! I’m Enkhjin from Mongolia,” Friend, June 2013, 26–27

Friends Around the World

Hi! I’m Enkhjin from Mongolia

What is your favorite thing to do with your family? Enkhjin A., age 8, from Mongolia, loves visiting the country with her family and picking wild berries and strawberries.

I do not have any pets, although I really want a puppy. Sometimes we visit the countryside, where I get to see cows, sheep, camels, horses, and goats. In the wintertime, I like to build snowmen there. Here I am with my brother and friend at Turtle Rock in Terelj National Park.

I feel happy when my family spends time together. We enjoy having family home evening and going to church every week. We also read the Book of Mormon and pray together every day. These things help keep my family strong.

I live with my mom, dad, and two brothers in Ulaanbaatar, the capital of Mongolia. One million people live in our city! We live on the 12th floor of an apartment building.

In this picture, I’m reading a story to my brother. I like reading a lot! I am in the third grade. I also like mathematics and drawing. One of my classmates is not a member of the Church, but I taught her about the Word of Wisdom and told her to drink milk instead of coffee or tea. I also taught her how to pray to Heavenly Father, since she didn’t know. I also invited her to family home evening at my house.

Photographs courtesy of Enkhjin’s family; illustration by Brad Teare

A traditional Mongolian house is called a “ger.” It’s made of heavy felt and big wooden poles!