New Area Leaders Assigned
previous next

“New Area Leaders Assigned,” Ensign, August 2017

News of the Church

New Area Leaders Assigned

Ensign Magazine, 2017/08 Aug

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2017.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world. The Presidency of the Seventy and Area Presidencies preside over geographic areas, and area leaders travel within their assigned area to teach and encourage local leaders and members of the Church.

During Christ’s mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out “before his face,” explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

United States and Canada

Clayton, L. Whitney

L. Whitney Clayton

Assists in all areas

Christensen, Craig C.

Craig C. Christensen

Utah North

Utah Salt Lake City

Utah South

Soares, Ulisses

Ulisses Soares


North America Central

Robbins, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Robbins

North America Southeast

Gong, Gerrit W.

Gerrit W. Gong

North America Northeast

Uceda, Juan A.

Juan A. Uceda

North America Southwest

Kearon, Patrick

Patrick Kearon

North America Northwest

North America West

Africa Southeast

Hamilton, Kevin S.

Kevin S. Hamilton


Palmer, S. Mark

S. Mark Palmer

First Counselor

Koch, Joni L.

Joni L. Koch

Second Counselor

Africa West

Vinson, Terence M.

Terence M. Vinson


Nash, Marcus B.

Marcus B. Nash

First Counselor

Kacher, Larry S.

Larry S. Kacher

Second Counselor


Funk, Randy D.

Randy D. Funk


Evans, David F.

David F. Evans

First Counselor

Meurs, Peter F.

Peter F. Meurs

Second Counselor

Asia North

Gay, Robert C.

Robert C. Gay


Yamashita, Kazuhiko

Kazuhiko Yamashita

First Counselor

Choi, Yoon Hwan

Yoon Hwan Choi

Second Counselor


Aidukaitis, Marcos A.

Marcos A. Aidukaitis


Bassett, W. Mark

W. Mark Bassett

First Counselor

Costa, Joaquin E.

Joaquin E. Costa

Second Counselor


Gonzalez, Walter F.

Walter F. González


Zivic, Claudio D.

Claudio D. Zivic

First Counselor

Alonso, Jose L.

Jose L. Alonso

Second Counselor

Central America

Ochoa, Adrian

Adrián Ochoa


Zeballos, Jorge F.

Jorge F. Zeballos

First Counselor

Cordon, Valeri V.

Valeri V. Cordón

Second Counselor


Paul V. Johnson

Paul V. Johnson


Sabin, Gary B.

Gary B. Sabin

First Counselor

De Feo, Massimo

Massimo De Feo

Second Counselor

Europe East

Martino, James B.

James B. Martino


Golden, Christoffel Jr.

Christoffel Golden

First Counselor

Samaykin, Alexey V.

Alexey V. Samaykin*

Second Counselor


Pieper, Paul B.

Paul B. Pieper


Valenzuela, Arnulfo

Arnulfo Valenzuela

First Counselor

Pino, Rafael D.

Rafael E. Pino

Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North

Andersen, Wilford W.

Wilford W. Andersen

Perkins, Anthony D.

Anthony D. Perkins

Administered from Church headquarters


Haleck, O. Vincent

O. Vincent Haleck


Cardon, Craig A.

Craig A. Cardon

First Counselor

Ardern, Ian S.

Ian S. Ardern

Second Counselor


Bowen, Shayne M.

Shayne M. Bowen


Haynie, Allen D.

Allen D. Haynie

First Counselor

Schmutz, Evan A.

Evan A. Schmutz

Second Counselor

South America Northwest

Godoy, Carlos A.

Carlos A. Godoy


Falabella, Enrique R.

Enrique R. Falabella

First Counselor

Montoya, Hugo

Hugo Montoya

Second Counselor

South America South

Teixeira, Jose A.

José A. Teixeira


Packer, Allan F.

Allan F. Packer

First Counselor

Bragg, Mark A.

Mark A. Bragg

Second Counselor

  • Area Seventy