LDS Women Gain National Recognition
December 1974

“LDS Women Gain National Recognition,” Ensign, Dec. 1974, 76–77

LDS Women Gain National Recognition

Sister Florence S. Jacobsen, Church curator and formerly president of the Young Women’s Mutual Improvement Association, was elected third vice president of the National Council of Women of the United States (NCW) at their 43rd biennial meeting of the board.

Sister Jacobsen will now head up the planning for the National Council’s October 1975 conference, with the emphasis on responsible parenthood. At this year’s meeting, held in October, Sister Jacobsen presented a report as chairman of the Council’s standing committee on child and family.

She has been succeeded in this chairmanship by Sister Maren Mauritsen, dean of student counseling at Columbia University and a former YWMIA president in the New York New York Stake.

Sister Belle S. Spafford, former general president of the Relief Society and former president of the National Council of Women, was elected to continue as an honorary member of the national council’s executive committee, and she presented the proposed revisions of the council’s constitution. Sister Spafford chaired the committee responsible for revising the council’s constitution, bylaws, and standing rules.

Also attending the meeting was Sister Ruth Hardy Funk, general president of Young Women, and Mayola R. Miltenberger, secretary-treasurer of the Relief Society.

Florence S. Jacobsen

Belle S. Spafford