News of the Church

Hide Footnotes


“News of the Church,” Liahona, August 2016, 14–15

News of the Church

New Area Leaders Assigned

Visit news.lds.org for more Church news and events.

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2016. All members of Area Presidencies are General Authority Seventies.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

During Christ’s mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out “before his face,” explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

In a revelation given to the Prophet Joseph Smith in 1835, the Lord revealed, among other things, “the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy” (D&C 107:93).

Liahona Magazine, 2015/08 Aug

Presidency of the Seventy

Clayton, L. Whitney

L. Whitney Clayton

Assists in all areas

Hallstrom, Donald L.

Donald L. Hallstrom

North America Northwest

North America West

Maynes, Richard J.

Richard J. Maynes

North America Southeast

Christensen, Craig C.

Craig C. Christensen

Utah North

Utah Salt Lake City

Utah South

Soares, Ulisses

Ulisses Soares


North America Central

Robbins, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Robbins

North America Southwest

Gong, Gerrit W.

Gerrit W. Gong

North America Northeast

Africa Southeast

Ellis, Stanley G.

Stanley G. Ellis

First Counselor

Hamilton, Kevin S.

Kevin S. Hamilton


Palmer, S. Mark

S. Mark Palmer

Second Counselor

Africa West

Nash, Marcus B.

Marcus B. Nash

First Counselor

Vinson, Terence M.

Terence M. Vinson


Stanfill, Vern P.

Vern P. Stanfill

Second Counselor


Wong, Chi Hong (Sam)

Chi Hong (Sam) Wong

First Counselor

Funk, Randy D.

Randy D. Funk


Evans, David F.

David F. Evans

Second Counselor

Asia North

Yamashita, Kazuhiko

Kazuhiko Yamashita

First Counselor

Whiting, Scott D.

Scott D. Whiting


Choi, Yoon Hwan

Yoon Hwan Choi

Second Counselor


Aidukaitis, Marcos A.

Marcos A. Aidukaitis

First Counselor

Costa, Claudio R. M.

Claudio R. M. Costa


Bassett, W. Mark

W. Mark Bassett

Second Counselor


Zivic, Claudio D.

Claudio D. Zivic

First Counselor

Gonzalez, Walter F.

Walter F. González


Martinez, Hugo E.

Hugo E. Martinez

Second Counselor

Central America

Ochoa, Adrian

Adrián Ochoa

First Counselor

Duncan, Kevin R.

Kevin R. Duncan


Alonso, Jose L.

Jose L. Alonso

Second Counselor


Johnson, Paul V.

Paul V. Johnson

First Counselor

Kearon, Patrick

Patrick Kearon


Sabin, Gary B.

Gary B. Sabin

Second Counselor

Europe East

Martino, James B.

James B. Martino

First Counselor

Porter, Bruce D.

Bruce D. Porter


Kacher, Larry S.

Larry S. Kacher

Second Counselor


Valenzuela, Arnulfo

Arnulfo Valenzuela

First Counselor

Pieper, Paul B.

Paul B. Pieper


Pino, Rafael E.

Rafael E. Pino

Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North

Lawrence, Larry R.

Larry R. Lawrence

Andersen, WIlford W.

Wilford W. Andersen

Administered from Church headquarters


Nielsen, S. Gifford

S. Gifford Nielsen

First Counselor

Haleck, O. Vincent

O. Vincent Haleck


Cardon, Craig A.

Craig A. Cardon

Second Counselor


Haynie, Allen D.

Allen D. Haynie

First Counselor

Bowen, Shayne M.

Shayne M. Bowen


Schmutz, Evan A.

Evan A. Schmutz

Second Counselor

South America Northwest

Corbridge, Lawrence E.

Lawrence E. Corbridge

First Counselor

Godoy, Carlos A.

Carlos A. Godoy


Montoya, Hugo

Hugo Montoya

Second Counselor

South America South

Packer, Allan F.

Allan F. Packer

First Counselor

Teixeira, Jose A.

José A. Teixeira


Bragg, Mark A.

Mark A. Bragg

Second Counselor