New Area Leaders Assigned
previous next

“New Area Leaders Assigned,” Liahona, August 2015, 12–13

News of the Church

New Area Leaders Assigned

Visit news.lds.org for more Church news and events.

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2015. All members of Area Presidencies are members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

“The history of the Seventies really goes back to the Old Testament,” said President Boyd K. Packer (1924–2015), President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.1 The first reference to the Seventy is found in Exodus 24:1, and they are later referred to in Numbers 11:16–17, 25, when they are gathered to assist Moses.

During Christ’s mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out “before his face,” explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

“We believe in the same organization that existed in the primitive Church,” President Packer said. “And it included Seventies.” (See Articles of Faith 1:6.) In today’s rapidly growing Church, the Seventy play an important role in assisting the Twelve. “Seventies by delegation can do anything the Twelve tell them to do,” President Packer said.2

Liahona Magazine, 2015/08 Aug

Presidency of the Seventy

Rasband, Ronald A.

Ronald A. Rasband

Assists in all areas

Clayton, L. Whitney

L. Whitney Clayton

Utah North

Utah Salt Lake City

Utah South

Hallstrom, Donald L.

Donald L. Hallstrom

North America Northeast

Maynes, Richard J.

Richard J. Maynes

North America Northwest

North America West

Christensen, Craig C.

Craig C. Christensen


North America Central

Soares, Ulisses

Ulisses Soares

North America Southeast

Robbins, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Robbins

North America Southwest

Africa Southeast

Ellis, Stanley G.

Stanley G. Ellis

First Counselor

Cook, Carl B.

Carl B. Cook


Hamilton, Kevin S.

Kevin S. Hamilton

Second Counselor

Africa West

Vinson, Terence M.

Terence M. Vinson

First Counselor

Curtis, LeGrand R., Jr.

LeGrand R. Curtis Jr.


Evans, David F.

David F. Evans

Second Counselor


Funk, Randy D.

Randy D. Funk

First Counselor

Gong, Gerrit W.

Gerrit W. Gong


Wong, Chi Hong (Sam)

Chi Hong (Sam) Wong

Second Counselor

Asia North

Yamashita, Kazuhiko

Kazuhiko Yamashita

First Counselor

Whiting, Scott D.

Scott D. Whiting


Choi, Yoon Hwan

Yoon Hwan Choi

Second Counselor


Mazzagardi, Jairo

Jairo Mazzagardi

First Counselor

Costa, Claudio R. M.

Claudio R. M. Costa


Aidukaitis, Marcos A.

Marcos A. Aidukaitis

Second Counselor


Zivic, Claudio D.

Claudio D. Zivic

First Counselor

Cornish, J. Devn

J. Devn Cornish


Martinez, Hugo E.

Hugo E. Martinez

Second Counselor

Central America

Ochoa, Adrian

Adrián Ochoa

First Counselor

Duncan, Kevin R.

Kevin R. Duncan


Alonso, Jose L.

Jose L. Alonso

Second Counselor


Johnson, Paul V.

Paul V. Johnson

First Counselor

Kearon, Patrick

Patrick Kearon


Dyches, Timothy J.

Timothy J. Dyches

Second Counselor

Europe East

Klebingat, Jorg

Jörg Klebingat

First Counselor

Porter, Bruce D.

Bruce D. Porter


Kacher, Larry S.

Larry S. Kacher

Second Counselor


Pieper, Paul B.

Paul B. Pieper

First Counselor

De Hoyos, Benjamin

Benjamín De Hoyos


Valenzuela, Arnulfo

Arnulfo Valenzuela

Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North

Lawrence, Larry R.

Larry R. Lawrence

Andersen, WIlford W.

Wilford W. Andersen

Administered from Church headquarters


Haleck, O. Vincent

O. Vincent Haleck

First Counselor

Pearson, Kevin W.

Kevin W. Pearson


Nielsen, S. Gifford

S. Gifford Nielsen

Second Counselor


Bowen, Shayne M.

Shayne M. Bowen

First Counselor

Ardern, Ian S.

Ian S. Ardern


Haynie, Allen D.

Allen D. Haynie

Second Counselor

South America Northwest

Waddell, W. Christopher

W. Christopher Waddell

First Counselor

Uceda, Juan A.

Juan A. Uceda


Godoy, Carlos A.

Carlos A. Godoy

Second Counselor

South America South

Vinas, Francisco J.

Francisco J. Viñas

First Counselor

Gonzalez, Walter F.

Walter F. González


Teixeira, Jose A.

José A. Teixeira

Second Counselor