Latter-day Prophets

    “Latter-day Prophets,” Friend, Nov. 1986, 24–25

    Latter-day Prophets

    Instructions: Mount page 24 on lightweight cardboard, then cut out prophets and identifications along solid lines. You can match the prophet with his proper identification, or you can glue the identification on the back of each prophet and then try to identify him.

    1 Joseph Smith, Jr.

    First President of Church

    Leader of Restoration

    Martyred for his faith

    2 Brigham Young

    Second President of Church

    Led Saints to Salt Lake Valley

    Established colonies throughout West

    3 John Taylor

    Third President of Church

    Called “Defender of Faith”

    4 Wilford Woodruff

    Fourth President of Church

    Issued Manifesto ending practice of plural marriage

    Dedicated Salt Lake Temple

    5 Lorenzo Snow

    Fifth President of Church

    Reemphasized law of tithing

    6 Joseph F. Smith

    Sixth President of Church

    Established family home evening program

    Received section 138 of D&C

    7 Heber J. Grant

    Seventh President of Church

    Taught persistence in overcoming weaknesses and in developing talents

    8 George Albert Smith

    Eighth President of Church

    Taught that loving and helping others is secret to happy life

    9 David O. McKay

    Ninth President of Church

    Believed that “no success can compensate for failure in the home”

    10 Joseph Fielding Smith

    Tenth President of Church

    Emphasized line of priesthood authority

    Directed formation of Ensign, New Era, Friend

    11 Harold B. Lee

    Eleventh President of Church

    Made great contribution to Church Welfare Program and Church Correlation

    12 Spencer W. Kimball

    Twelfth President of Church

    Asked members to lengthen stride in service, missionary work, temple building

    13 Ezra Taft Benson
    (1899– )

    Thirteenth President of Church

    Emphasizes the importance of Book of Mormon, patriotism, and family values