Eight New Temples, Historic Restorations Announced
May 2019

Eight New Temples, Historic Restorations Announced

Salt Lake Temple

Pioneer-era temples, including the Salt Lake Temple, will be renovated, and an additional eight new temples will be built.

President Russell M. Nelson concluded the April 2019 general conference by announcing eight new temples and the restoration of four pioneer-era temples, including more details about the restoration of the Salt Lake Temple.

New temples will be built in Pago Pago, American Samoa; Okinawa City, Okinawa; Neiafu, Tonga; Tooele Valley, Utah, USA; Moses Lake, Washington, USA; San Pedro Sula, Honduras; Antofagasta, Chile; and Budapest, Hungary.

Plans for a major restoration of the Salt Lake Temple will include renovation of Temple Square and the adjoining plaza near the Church Office Building in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. Temples in St. George, Manti, and Logan, Utah, USA, will also be renovated in the near future. “This work will require that each temple be closed for a period of time,” President Nelson said. “Church members may continue to enjoy temple worship and service in other temples nearby. When each project is completed, each historic temple will be rededicated.”

Since becoming Church President in January 2018, President Nelson has announced 27 new temples. Since last general conference in October 2018, temples have been dedicated in Rome, Italy; Barranquilla, Colombia; and Concepción, Chile.