Seven New Temples Announced
May 2018

“Seven New Temples Announced,” Ensign, May 2018

Seven New Temples Announced

Temples will be built in Salta, Argentina; Bengaluru, India; Managua, Nicaragua; Cagayan de Oro, Philippines; Layton, Utah, USA; Richmond, Virginia, USA; and a major city yet to be determined in Russia, President Russell M. Nelson announced at the end of the Sunday afternoon session of general conference.

Just before conference, the First Presidency announced that the Rome Italy Temple will be dedicated on Sunday, March 10, 2019, through Sunday, March 17, 2019. The Church also released an artistic rendering of the Bangkok Thailand Temple.

In October 2017, ground was broken for the Port-au-Prince Haiti Temple; the Meridian Idaho Temple was dedicated in November 2017; and the Cedar City Utah (USA) Temple was dedicated in December 2017.

Two temples will soon be rededicated: the Houston Texas Temple on Sunday, April 22, 2018, following repairs due to flooding; and the Jordan River Utah Temple on Sunday, May 20, 2018, following renovations. And two additional temples will be dedicated later this year: the Concepción Chile Temple on Sunday, October 28, 2018; and the Barranquilla Colombia Temple on Sunday, December 9, 2018.

The Hamilton New Zealand Temple will close in July 2018 for extensive renovation and will be rededicated in 2021.

There are currently 159 operating temples worldwide, with 30 temples announced or under construction.