New Area Leadership Assignments

    “New Area Leadership Assignments,” Ensign, Aug. 2007, 76–77

    New Area Leadership Assignments

    The First Presidency has announced changes in assignments for area leadership, effective beginning on August 1, 2007. All members of Area Presidencies are members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy unless otherwise noted.

    Three new members of the Presidency of the Seventy have been called to serve. Elder Quentin L. Cook, Elder Claudio R. M. Costa, and Elder Steven E. Snow have been called to succeed Elder Charles Didier, Elder Merrill J. Bateman, and Elder Robert C. Oaks. (See accompanying story.)

    The First Presidency has also announced the combining of the Mexico North and South Areas and the Brazil North and South Areas.

    Presidency of the Seventy

    Earl C. Tingey
    1. North America East
    2. North America Northeast

    D. Todd Christofferson
    3. North America Northwest
    4. North America West

    Neil L. Andersen
    5. North America Southwest

    Ronald A. Rasband
    6. Utah North
    7. Utah Salt Lake City
    8. Utah South

    Quentin L. Cook
    9. North America Southeast

    Claudio R. M. Costa
    10. Idaho

    Steven E. Snow
    11. North America Central

    12. Mexico
    Lynn A. Mickelsen, President
    C. Scott Grow, First Counselor
    Octaviano Tenorio, Second Counselor

    13. Central America
    Don R. Clarke, President
    Shirley D. Christensen, First Counselor
    Enrique R. Falabella, Second Counselor

    14. Caribbean
    Clate W. Mask Jr., President
    Daniel L. Johnson, First Counselor
    Miguel A. Lee*, Second Counselor

    15. South America North
    Carl B. Pratt, President
    Benjamín De Hoyos, First Counselor
    César A. Dávila*, Second Counselor

    16. South America West
    Walter F. González, President
    Marcus B. Nash, First Counselor
    Alexander A. Nuñez*, Second Counselor

    17. Brazil
    Charles Didier, President
    Ulisses Soares, First Counselor
    Stanley G. Ellis, Second Counselor

    18. Chile
    Carlos H. Amado, President
    Paul V. Johnson, First Counselor
    Daniel M. Cañoles*, Second Counselor

    19. South America South
    Lynn G. Robbins, President
    Shayne M. Bowen, First Counselor
    Claudio D. Zivic, Second Counselor

    20. Europe West
    Kenneth Johnson, President
    Francisco J. Viñas, First Counselor
    Patrick Kearon*, Second Counselor

    21. Europe Central
    Robert C. Oaks, President
    Erich W. Kopischke, First Counselor
    Johann A. Wondra*, Second Counselor

    22. Europe East
    Paul B. Pieper, President
    Wolfgang H. Paul, First Counselor
    Larry W. Gibbons, Second Counselor

    23. Africa West
    Lowell M. Snow, President
    Craig A. Cardon, First Counselor
    Christoffel Golden Jr., Second Counselor

    24. Africa Southeast
    William W. Parmley, President
    Paul E. Koelliker, First Counselor
    Allen P. Young*, Second Counselor

    25. Asia
    Daryl H. Garn, President
    Donald L. Hallstrom, First Counselor
    Anthony D. Perkins, Second Counselor

    26. Asia North
    David F. Evans, President
    Kazuhiko Yamashita*, First Counselor
    Yoon Hwan Choi*, Second Counselor

    27. Philippines
    Keith R. Edwards, President
    Won Yong Ko, First Counselor
    Michael J. Teh, Second Counselor

    28. Australia
    Paul K. Sybrowsky, President
    Keith K. Hilbig, First Counselor
    Dirk Smibert*, Second Counselor

    29. New Zealand/Pacific Islands
    Spencer J. Condie, President
    David S. Baxter, First Counselor
    Hans T. Sorensen*, Second Counselor