Honored as Mothers of the Year
July 1998

“Honored as Mothers of the Year,” Ensign, July 1998, 78

Honored as Mothers of the Year

Latter-day Saint women in the United States have been chosen as National Mother of the Year and National Mother of Young Children for 1998. Diane Stirland Matthews of the Southern Estates Ward, Mesa Arizona Kimball Stake, was named National Mother of the Year. Tammy Jones Huber of the Oatfield Ward, Milwaukie Oregon Stake, was named National Mother of Young Children. They were among 20 LDS women chosen to represent their states at the annual American Mothers Convention held 29 April to 3 May in Atlanta, Georgia.

In addition to Sister Matthews, those representing their respective states as Mother of the Year were Joyce Burgess Candland of the White Plains First Ward, Suitland Maryland Stake; Joan George Erickson of the Perry Second Ward, Willard Utah Stake; Raelene Ball Hill of the Old Oaks Ward, Houston Texas North Stake; Joy Weller Miller of the McCall Ward, Weiser Idaho Stake; Patricia Lei Anderson Murray of the Lanakila Ward, Honolulu Hawaii West Stake; Ann Crane Santini of the Potomac South Ward, Washington D.C. Stake; Joann Alder Sorensen of the Vancouver Fifth Ward, Vancouver Washington Stake; Lucy Ann Fisher Staples of the Lake Mills Branch, Madison Wisconsin Stake; and Helen Bartlett Stone of the Westchester First Ward, Westchester New York Stake.

In addition to Sister Huber, the Latter-day Saint women chosen as Mother of Young Children representatives from their states were LeiLani D. Auna of the Hauula Third Ward, Laie Hawaii Stake; Leann Clark Carroll of the Apex Ward, Raleigh North Carolina Stake; Shaunaleen T. Crapo of the Hyrum 10th Ward, Hyrum Utah North Stake; Shanna L. Dayton of the Hamilton Ward, Warrenton Virginia Stake; Charlotte G. Miller of the Hopkinsville Ward, Hopkinsville Kentucky Stake; Leslie Ann K. Nigh of the Madison Third Ward, Madison Wisconsin Stake; Kristy Searle Saunders of the Sunny Mesa Ward, Mesa Arizona Kimball East Stake; Sally Jo D. Simmons of the Sugar Land First Ward, Houston Texas South Stake and Cynthia Ann Johnson Wallace of the Castlerock Ward, Taylor Mountain Idaho Stake.