Elder Asay to Direct Missionary Department
June 1976

“Elder Asay to Direct Missionary Department,” Ensign, June 1976, 86

Elder Asay to Direct Missionary Department

Elder Carlos E. Asay, sustained as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy at the April general conference, has been appointed managing director of the Missionary Department.

This is the first time that the department has had a managing director since 1974, when Elder Loren C. Dunn of the First Council of the Seventy served in that capacity.

Elder Asay has had the experience of being both a missionary and a mission president. (See Ensign, May 1976, p. 134.) Of his new calling he says, “In the light of President Spencer W. Kimball’s call to us to lengthen our stride in missionary work, it’s a great challenge to be called to this position—an awesome responsibility.”

The missionary work of the Church is guided by the Council of the Twelve, who have designated three of their number as an executive committee. Elder Thomas S. Monson is chairman of the committee, Elder Bruce R. McConkie is vice-chairman, and Elder David B. Haight is the other member of the committee.