General Authorities Assigned to U.S., Canada

    “General Authorities Assigned to U.S., Canada,” Ensign, July 1975, 74–75

    General Authorities Assigned to U.S., Canada

    As part of a new supervisory program, the First Presidency has announced that the 50 missions in the United States and Canada have been divided into 12 areas, each assigned to one member of the Council of the Twelve as an adviser and one other General Authority as a supervisor.

    The Brethren will continue to reside in Salt Lake City, but will tour their areas frequently.

    The new program is designed to improve proselyting and intensify training of local members for leadership positions in the Church. The First Presidency previously announced that six Assistants to the Council of the Twelve would permanently reside and preside in areas of the world outside of the U.S. and Canada. (See Ensign, June 1975, pp. 70–71.)

    The assignments, with areas and missions, are as follows:


    Council of the Twelve Adviser

    General Authority Supervisor

    Missions Included

    Pacific North

    Elder LeGrand Richards

    Elder Franklin D. Richards

    Alaska Anchorage, Canada Vancouver, Washington Seattle, Oregon Portland.

    California North–Hawaii

    Elder Marvin J. Ashton

    Elder O. Leslie Stone

    California Fresno, California Oakland, California Sacramento, Hawaii Honolulu.

    California South

    Elder Howard W. Hunter

    Elder Robert D. Hales

    California Anaheim, California Arcadia, California Los Angeles, California San Diego.

    Mountain States

    Elder Boyd K. Packer

    Elder Theodore M. Burton

    Idaho Pocatello, Utah Salt Lake City, Nevada Las Vegas, Colorado Denver.


    Elder Delbert L. Stapley

    Elder James A. Cullimore

    Texas Dallas, Texas San Antonio, Oklahoma Tulsa, Arizona Tempe.

    West Central

    Elder Boyd K. Packer

    Elder Joseph Anderson

    Arizona Holbrook, South Dakota Rapid City, Montana Billings, New Mexico Albuquerque, Canada Calgary.

    North Central

    Elder Thomas S. Monson

    Elder A. Theodore Tuttle

    Minnesota Minneapolis, Illinois Chicago, Indiana Indianapolis, Michigan Lansing.

    South Central

    Elder Mark E. Petersen

    Elder David B. Haight

    Missouri Independence, Louisiana Shreveport, Arkansas Little Rock, Kentucky Louisville, Tennessee Nashville.

    Atlantic South

    Elder Bruce R. McConkie

    Elder Rex D. Pinegar

    Florida Tallahassee, Florida Ft. Lauderdale, Georgia Atlanta, South Carolina Columbia.

    Atlantic North

    Elder Gordon B. Hinckley

    Elder Marion D. Hanks

    North Carolina Greensboro, Virginia Roanoke, Washington, D.C., Ohio Columbus.


    Elder L. Tom Perry

    Elder Loren C. Dunn

    Pennsylvania Harrisburg, Pennsylvania Pittsburgh, New York New York, Massachusetts Boston.

    Eastern Canadian

    Elder L. Tom Perry

    Elder Neal A. Maxwell

    New York Rochester, Canada Halifax, Canada Montreal, Canada Toronto.