Presidency of the Seventy

The Presidency of the Seventy is a group of seven General Authority Seventies who lead the Quorums of the Seventy. They are called by the First Presidency, and they work under direction from the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Unlike other presidencies in the Church, the Presidency of the Seventy is not made up of a president and two counselors. Instead, it consists of seven presidents, with the most experienced member of the presidency acting as the presiding member.

The Presidency of the Seventy oversees the work of the Quorums of the Seventy, which assist the Quorum of the Twelve in their work in various regions of the world. This work includes traveling to teach about the gospel of Jesus Christ; administering missionary, temple, family history, humanitarian, and other efforts; meeting with Church members and missionaries, organizing Church units, and training local Church leaders; and many other responsibilities.
The organization of the Presidency of the Seventy was outlined in a book of scripture known as the Doctrine and Covenants: “And it is according to the vision showing the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy; and the seventh president of these presidents is to preside over the six”1.
Last Updated On 2 Sep 2021