New Area Leaders Assigned

    “New Area Leaders Assigned,” Liahona, August 2017

    News of the Church

    New Area Leaders Assigned

    Visit for more Church news and events.

    Area Presidency chart

    The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2017.

    The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world. The Presidency of the Seventy and Area Presidencies preside over geographic areas, and area leaders travel within their assigned area to teach and encourage local leaders and members of the Church.

    During Christ’s mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out “before his face,” explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

    United States and Canada

    Elder L. Whitney Clayton

    L. Whitney Clayton

    Assists in all areas

    Elder Craig C. Christensen

    Craig C. Christensen

    Utah North

    Utah Salt Lake City

    Utah South

    Elder Ulisses Soares

    Ulisses Soares


    North America Central

    Elder Lynn G. Robbins

    Lynn G. Robbins

    North America Southeast

    Elder Gerrit W. Gong

    Gerrit W. Gong

    North America Northeast

    Elder Juan A. Uceda

    Juan A. Uceda

    North America Southwest

    Elder Patrick Kearon

    Patrick Kearon

    North America Northwest

    North America West

    Africa Southeast

    Elder S. Mark Palmer

    S. Mark Palmer

    First Counselor

    Elder Kevin S. Hamilton

    Kevin S. Hamilton


    Elder Joni L. Koch

    Joni L. Koch

    Second Counselor

    Africa West

    Elder Marcus B. Nash

    Marcus B. Nash

    First Counselor

    Elder Terence M. Vinson

    Terence M. Vinson


    Elder Larry S. Kacher

    Larry S. Kacher

    Second Counselor


    Elder David F. Evans

    David F. Evans

    First Counselor

    Elder Randy D. Funk

    Randy D. Funk


    Elder Peter F. Meurs

    Peter F. Meurs

    Second Counselor

    Asia North

    Elder Kazuhiko Yamashita

    Kazuhiko Yamashita

    First Counselor

    Elder Robert C. Gay

    Robert C. Gay


    Elder Yoon Hwan Choi

    Yoon Hwan Choi

    Second Counselor


    Elder W. Mark Bassett

    W. Mark Bassett

    First Counselor

    Elder Marcos A. Aidukaitis

    Marcos A. Aidukaitis


    Elder Joaquin E. Costa

    Joaquin E. Costa

    Second Counselor


    Elder Claudio D. Zivic

    Claudio D. Zivic

    First Counselor

    Elder Walter F. González

    Walter F. González


    Elder Jose L. Alonso

    Jose L. Alonso

    Second Counselor

    Central America

    Elder Jorge F. Zeballos

    Jorge F. Zeballos

    First Counselor

    Elder Adrián Ochoa

    Adrián Ochoa


    Elder Valeri V. Cordón

    Valeri V. Cordón

    Second Counselor


    Elder Gary B. Sabin

    Gary B. Sabin

    First Counselor

    Elder Paul V. Johnson

    Paul V. Johnson


    Elder Massimo De Feo

    Massimo De Feo

    Second Counselor

    Europe East

    Elder Christoffel Golden

    Christoffel Golden

    First Counselor

    Elder James B. Martino

    James B. Martino


    Elder Alexey V. Samaykin

    Alexey V. Samaykin*

    Second Counselor


    Elder Arnulfo Valenzuela

    Arnulfo Valenzuela

    First Counselor

    Elder Paul B. Pieper

    Paul B. Pieper


    Elder Rafael E. Pino

    Rafael E. Pino

    Second Counselor


    Elder Craig A. Cardon

    Craig A. Cardon

    First Counselor

    Elder O. Vincent Haleck

    O. Vincent Haleck


    Elder Ian S. Ardern

    Ian S. Ardern

    Second Counselor


    Elder Allen D. Haynie

    Allen D. Haynie

    First Counselor

    Elder Shayne M. Bowen

    Shayne M. Bowen


    Elder Evan A. Schmutz

    Evan A. Schmutz

    Second Counselor

    South America Northwest

    Elder Enrique R. Falabella

    Enrique R. Falabella

    First Counselor

    Elder Carlos A. Godoy

    Carlos A. Godoy


    Elder Hugo Montoya

    Hugo Montoya

    Second Counselor

    South America South

    Elder Allan F. Packer

    Allan F. Packer

    First Counselor

    Elder José A. Teixeira

    José A. Teixeira


    Elder Mark A. Bragg

    Mark A. Bragg

    Second Counselor

    Middle East/Africa North

    Elder Wilford W. Andersen

    Wilford W. Andersen

    Elder Anthony D. Perkins

    Anthony D. Perkins

    Administered from Church headquarters

    • Area Seventy