New Area Leadership Assignments
August 2006

“New Area Leadership Assignments,” Liahona, Aug. 2006, N2–N3

New Area Leadership Assignments

The First Presidency has announced changes in assignments for area leadership, effective beginning August 15, 2006. All members of Area Presidencies are members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy unless otherwise noted.

The First Presidency has also announced the formation of a new area, the Caribbean Area, formed from what was part of the North America Southeast Area.

Presidency of the Seventy

Earl C. Tingey
1. North America East
2. North America Northeast

D. Todd Christofferson
3. North America Southeast

Charles Didier
4. North America Southwest

Merrill J. Bateman
5. Utah North
6. Utah Salt Lake City
7. Utah South

Robert C. Oaks
8. North America Central

Neil L. Andersen
9. Idaho

Ronald A. Rasband
10. North America Northwest
11. North America West

12. Mexico North
C. Scott Grow, President
Jorge A. Rojas*, First Counselor
José L. Alonso*, Second Counselor

13. Mexico South
Craig C. Christensen, President
Marco A. Cárdenas*, First Counselor
José L. Torres*, Second Counselor

14. Central America
Spencer V. Jones, President
Don R. Clarke, First Counselor
José E. Boza*, Second Counselor

15. Caribbean
Clate W. Mask Jr., President
Daniel L. Johnson, First Counselor
Migule A. Lee*, Second Counselor

16. South America North
Claudio R. M. Costa, President
Benjamín De Hoyos, First Counselor
César A. Dávila*, Second Counselor

17. South America West
James M. Dunn, President
Willy F. Zuzunaga*, First Counselor
Alexander A. Nuñez*, Second Counselor

18. Brazil North
Walter F. González, President
Stanley G. Ellis, First Counselor
Pedro J. Penha*, Second Counselor

19. Brazil South
Mervyn B. Arnold, President
Ulisses Soares, First Counselor
Carlos A. Godoy*, Second Counselor

20. Chile
Carl B. Pratt, President
Carlos H. Amado, First Counselor
Oscar W. Chavez*, Second Counselor

21. South America South
Lynn G. Robbins, President
Shayne M. Bowen, First Counselor
Fernando D. Ortega*, Second Counselor

22. Europe West
Kenneth Johnson, President
Francisco J. Viñas, First Counselor
Patrick Kearon*, Second Counselor

23. Europe Central
Bruce C. Hafen, President
Wolfgang H. Paul, First Counselor
Johann A. Wondra*, Second Counselor

24. Europe East
Dennis B. Neuenschwander, President
Paul B. Pieper, First Counselor
Larry W. Gibbons, Second Counselor

25. Africa West
Lowell M. Snow, President
Craig A. Cardon, First Counselor
Adesina J. Olukanni*, Second Counselor

26. Africa Southeast
Christoffel Golden Jr., President
William W. Parmley, First Counselor
Allen P. Young*, Second Counselor

27. Asia
Daryl H. Garn, President
Donald L. Hallstrom, First Counselor
D. Allen Andersen*, Second Counselor

28. Asia North
David F. Evans, President
Won Yong Ko, First Counselor
Kazuhiko Yamashita*, Second Counselor

29. Philippines
D. Rex Gerratt, President
Keith R. Edwards, First Counselor
Michael J. Teh*, Second Counselor

30. Australia
Paul K. Sybrowsky, President
John R. Gibson*, First Counselor
Dirk Smibert*, Second Counselor

31. New Zealand/Pacific Islands
Spencer J. Condie, President
David S. Baxter, First Counselor
Hans T. Sorensen*, Second Counselor

  • * Area Seventy