Leadership Changes Sustained at Conference

Hide Footnotes


“Leadership Changes Sustained at Conference,” Ensign, Nov. 1999, 107

Leadership Changes Sustained at Conference

During the recent general conference, Elders Joe J. Christensen and Andrew W. Peterson of the First Quorum of the Seventy were given emeritus status, Elder Ben B. Banks was sustained to the Presidency of the Seventy (see Ensign, Oct. 1999, 74), four Area Authority Seventies were released, three new Area Authority Seventies were sustained, the Primary general presidency was released, and a new Primary general presidency was sustained.

Elder Christensen was called as a General Authority in April 1989, at which time he was serving as president of Ricks College in Rexburg, Idaho. From 1993 until August 1999 he served in the Presidency of the Seventy, and he previously served in the North America Northwest and Brazil Area Presidencies. Prior to his call as a General Authority, Elder Christensen served as a mission president in Mexico and as president of the Provo Missionary Training Center. He worked in teaching and administrative positions in the Church Educational System for more than 30 years. He and his wife, Barbara, are now serving as president and matron of the San Diego California Temple.

Elder Peterson was called to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy in October 1994. Prior to his service as a General Authority, he was a regional representative and stake president. He served as president of the Mexico Mérida Mission from 1981 to 1984. For 20 years he ran a successful dentistry practice in Salt Lake City. He was serving as president of the Mexico North Area when he suffered paralyzing injuries in Utah in September 1997.

The four Brethren released as Area Authority Seventies included Elders Max W. Craner, serving in the North America Northwest Area; César A. Dávila, serving in the South America North Area; P. Bruce Mitchell, serving in the Australia/New Zealand Area; and J. Kirk Moyes, serving in the Utah North Area. The three new Area Authority Seventies and their assignments are Elders J. Devn Cornish, North America Southeast Area; Manfred H. Schütze, Europe East Area; and Johann A. Wondra, Europe East Area.

Released were Primary general presidency members Patricia P. Pinegar, president; Anne G. Wirthlin, first counselor; and Susan L. Warner, second counselor. New members of the presidency are Coleen K. Menlove, president; Sydney S. Reynolds, first counselor; and Gayle M. Clegg, second counselor.