“President Faust Dedicates Nauvoo Monument, Ricks College Building,” Ensign, Nov. 1997, 110
“We dedicate this marker as a remembrance of the life, the example, the faith, and the dedication of thy servant Edward Partridge,” prayed President James E. Faust, Second Counselor in the First Presidency, during a dedication ceremony held on 30 August at the Old Pioneer Cemetery in Nauvoo. “May it stand as a reminder of the nobility of this great man, his wife and children, as well as all others who are buried here.”
Edward Partridge was called as the Church’s first bishop in 1831, and after enduring persecutions and trials with the Saints he died at Nauvoo in 1840. President Faust is one of Bishop Partridge’s many descendants. Presiding Bishop H. David Burton also offered remarks at the dedication.
President Faust dedicated the new religion and humanities building at Church-owned Ricks College in Rexburg, Idaho, on 16 September. Named in honor of the Church’s third President, John Taylor, the college’s first new freestanding building in 17 years is also designed for use by an entire college stake on Sundays and weeknights.
“Obedience, dedication, and integrity were the hallmarks of President Taylor’s life,” said President Faust in his remarks prior to the dedication. “His years as President of the Church were times of turmoil, but he left a great legacy of gospel truth. It is entirely appropriate and fitting that this new building memorialize this great stalwart prophet and leader of the Church.”
Elder Henry B. Eyring of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, president of Ricks College from 1971 to 1977 and currently Commissioner of Church Education, spoke at the dedication. Also attending was Sister Mary Ellen Smoot, Relief Society general president and a member of the college’s board of trustees.