Changes in Presidency of Seventy

“Changes in Presidency of Seventy,” Ensign, Sept. 1995, 74

Changes in Presidency of Seventy

Two new members of the Presidency of the Seventy and changes in area presidency assignments have been announced by the First Presidency, to be effective 15 August 1995. (See adjacent article for new area presidencies.)

Elder Jack H Goaslind and Elder Harold G. Hillam have been called to serve in the Presidency of the Seventy, replacing Elder Rex D. Pinegar and Elder Charles Didier, who have been given area presidency assignments.

Elder Goaslind is serving in the Presidency of the Seventy for the second time. Sustained to the First Quorum of the Seventy on 30 September 1978, he was in the Presidency of the Seventy from 1985 to 1987. He has served in the Utah South Area presidency and as the Young Men general president. He is a native of Salt Lake City, graduated from the University of Utah, served as an officer in the U.S. Air Force, and was vice president of a metals corporation before his call as a General Authority. A former temple president, regional representative, stake president and bishop, Elder Goaslind and his wife, Gwen Caroline Bradford Goaslind, have six children.

Elder Jack H Goaslind

Elder Jack H Goaslind

Elder Hillam has been serving as president of the Brazil Area. He was sustained to the Second Quorum of the Seventy on 31 March 1990 and to the First Quorum of the Seventy on 6 April 1991. Born in Sugar City, Idaho, Elder Hillam attended Brigham Young University and earned a D.D.S. degree from Northwestern University in Chicago. He served as a regional representative, mission president, and stake president. Elder Hillam and his wife, Carol Rasmussen Hillam, have seven children.

Elder Harold G. Hillam

Elder Harold G. Hillam

Elder Pinegar will serve as second counselor in the Asia North Area presidency, and Elder Didier will be first counselor in the Europe East Area presidency.

As members of the presidency of the Seventy, Elder Goaslind will serve as Executive Director of the Church’s Curriculum Department and Elder Hillam will be Executive Director of the Priesthood Department. Elder Carlos E. Asay will serve as Senior President of the Seventy, and Elder Joe J. Christensen, who previously served as Executive Director of the Curriculum Department, will serve as Executive Director of Correlation Review. Other members of the Presidency of the Seventy will continue with their previous assignments: Elder L. Aldin Porter, Executive Director of the Missionary Department; Elder Monte J. Brough, Executive Director of the Family History Department; and Elder W. Eugene Hansen, Executive Director of the Temple Department.

Presently the Church divides the world into twenty-two areas, and members of the Quorums of the Seventy are called to serve in presidencies over those areas. As such, they are responsible for administering Church matters in their assigned areas.

Creation of a new administrative position of area authority, to serve under the area presidencies, was announced recently. Three new area authorities have been announced because they will also serve in area presidencies. Those three brethren are:

Hugo A. Catrón, 59, Buenos Aires, Argentina; former regional representative and stake president; CES institute director; married to María Rosario Surache Catrón.

C. Scott Grow, 47, Meridian, Idaho; former stake president, mission president, and stake Young Men president; president of an accounting firm; married to Rhonda Lee Patten Grow.

Carl B. Pratt, 53, Quito, Ecuador; former mission president, regional representative, and counselor in a stake presidency; married to Karen Ann Yoeman Pratt.