New General Authority Assignments Announced

“New General Authority Assignments Announced,” Ensign, Aug. 1993, 74

New General Authority Assignments Announced

The First Presidency has announced changes of assignments for a number of General Authorities. These assignments will be effective August 15.

Elders Joe J. Christensen, Monte J. Brough, and W. Eugene Hansen of the Seventy will become members of the Presidency of the Seventy, replacing Elders Dean L. Larsen, James M. Paramore, and J. Richard Clarke, who have been called to serve in area presidencies. The new members of the Presidency of the Seventy also serve as executive directors in various Church departments.

Elder Joe J. Christensen

Elder Joe J. Christensen

Elder Christensen was called as a General Authority on 1 April 1989 while serving as president of Ricks College. He has been serving as president of the North American Northwest Area. Elder Brough was sustained as a General Authority on 1 October 1988 and is a former mission president. He has been serving as president of the Asia Area. Elder Hansen, a former stake president, was sustained to the First Quorum of the Seventy on 1 April 1989. He has been serving as president of the Asia North Area.

Elder W. Eugene Hansen

Elder W. Eugene Hansen

Elder Vaughn J. Featherstone of the Seventy will become second counselor in the Young Men general presidency, replacing Elder L. Lionel Kendrick, also of the Seventy. Elder Kendrick will serve as president of the Dallas Texas Temple.

Elder Monte J. Brough

Elder Monte J. Brough

Area presidency assignments have also been announced. All members of the presidencies are members of the Seventy. (Presidents are listed first, with counselors following.)

North America Central—James M. Paramore, Hartman Rector, Jr., and William R. Bradford

North America Northeast—Cree-L Kofford, Yoshihiko Kikuchi, and Vaughn J. Featherstone

North America Northwest—Merlin R. Lybbert, Ted E. Brewerton, and Spencer J. Condie

North America Southeast—Alexander B. Morrison, Stephen D. Nadauld, and Richard P. Lindsay

North America Southwest—W. Mack Lawrence, Gene R. Cook, and D. Todd Christofferson

North America West—John H. Groberg, F. Burton Howard, and Jeffrey R. Holland

Utah Central—John E. Fowler, J Ballard Washburn, and Durrel A. Woolsey

Utah North—F. Enzio Busche, Lloyd P. George, and Neil L. Andersen

Utah South—Malcolm S. Jeppsen, Albert Choules, Jr., and Jack H Goaslind

Africa—J. Richard Clarke, Earl C. Tingey, and F. David Stanley

Asia—John K. Carmack, Kwok Yuen Tai, and David E. Sorensen

Asia North—Merrill J. Bateman, In Sang Han, and Sam K. Shimabukuro

Brazil—Harold G. Hillam, Helvécio Martins, and Dallas N. Archibald

Central America—Carlos H. Amado, Robert E. Wells, and Joseph C. Muren

Europe—Dennis B. Neuenschwander, Robert K. Dellenbach, and C. Max Caldwell

Europe/Mediterranean—Dean L. Larsen, LeGrand R. Curtis, and Hans B. Ringger

Europe North—Kenneth Johnson, Hugh W. Pinnock, and Graham W. Doxey

Mexico North—Angel Abrea, Jorge A. Rojas, and John M. Madsen

Mexico South—F. Melvin Hammond, Lino Alvarez, and Gary J. Coleman

Pacific—Rulon G. Craven, Lowell D. Wood, and V. Dallas Merrell

Philippines/Micronesia—Ben B. Banks, Augusto A. Lim, and Loren C. Dunn

South America North—Jay E. Jensen, Julio E. Dávila, and Eduardo Ayala

South America South—Lynn A. Mickelsen, Horacio A. Tenorio, and John B. Dickson