“Appointments,” Ensign, Oct. 1985, 79–80


    Regional Representatives

    Lino Alvarez V. of the Anahuac Ward, Monterrey Mexico Anahuac Stake, has been assigned to the Saltillo, Monterrey, and Monterrey Libertad regions. A recently released mission president, he is associate area director of the Church Educational System.

    Dieter H. E. Berndt of West Berlin has been called to serve the Vienna Austria Region and the Dresden Region in the German Democratic Republic. A former stake president, high councilor, and bishop, he is a professor of engineering and consultant to industry.

    George Thomas (Tom) Choules of the Yuma Second Ward, Yuma Arizona Stake, has been called to lead the Blythe California Region. An attorney, he was serving as a patriarch at the time of his call and has also served as stake president.

    Santiago Mejia M. of the Cuexcomate Ward, Puebla Mexico La Paz Stake, has been assigned to the Poza Rica Mexico, Veracruz Mexico, and Oaxaca Mexico regions. A microfilmer, he has served in a variety of local Church leadership positions, including stake president.

    Gerald Leroi Scott of the Chamblee Ward, Sandy Springs Georgia Stake, has been called to lead the Raleigh North Carolina and Charlotte North Carolina regions. A former stake president, he is president of the Bakery Division of Pet Incorporated.

    Stake Presidents

    Arequipa Peru Manuel Prado Stake (new, from a division of the Arequipa Peru Stake), Efrain Jorge Rodriguez M., formerly president of the Arequipa Peru Stake, coordinator of seminaries and institutes for the Arequipa Region of the Church Educational System; Arequipa Peru Umacollo Stake (formerly Arequipa Peru Stake), Victor Hugo Gamero C., manager of a soft drink bottle-making plant; Las Vegas Nevada Lakes Stake (new, from a division of the Las Vegas Nevada South Stake), Dennis E. Simmons, formerly president of the Las Vegas Nevada South Stake, a lawyer; Las Vegas Nevada South Stake, Lewis Hildreth, a real estate development and construction business owner.

    Auckland New Zealand Manukau Stake, Clark W. P. Larkins, an administrator in the Church Educational System; Berlin Germany Stake, Gerhard Grünewald, a chemistry and physics teacher; Buenos Aires Argentina Moreno Stake, Guillermo Daniel Rodriguez, an assistant representative in an assessor’s office; Cagayan de Oro Philippines Stake, Loreto B. Libid, senior branch manager for a credit corporation; Ha’ apai Tonga Stake, Moleni Fonua, supervisor of building maintenance for the Church in the Ha’ apai Islands of Tonga.

    Logan Utah East Stake, Brian F. Thornley, a dentist; Mexico City Mexico Pachuca Stake, Joel Gandara Salazar, a biochemical engineer; Rosario Argentina Stake, Horacio A. Curletto, a banker; San Juan Argentina Stake, Pedro Mayo Mazzitelli, a cartographer; San Luis Potosí Mexico Stake, Alejandro Aguilar Montalvo, a businessman.

    Primary Board

    General Primary President Dwan J. Young has announced that nine women have been called to the Primary General Board. All have had extensive experience in Church service and have been involved in service to children through community projects or education programs.

    The new board members are: Betty Jo Nelson Jepsen, Pleasant View Sixth Ward, Pleasant View Utah Stake; Jill Giuliani Kennedy, Yale First Ward, Salt Lake Bonneville Stake; Susan Hobson Kenney, Union Twenty-fourth Ward, Sandy Utah Willow Creek Stake; Suzanne Sessions Moesinger, Ogden Seventy-third Ward, Ogden Utah Weber Heights Stake; Carmen Boyden Pingree, Yale Second Ward, Salt Lake Bonneville Stake; Laurel Parker Rohlfing, Monument Park Thirteenth Ward, Salt Lake Monument Park Stake; Margo Foulger Weaver, Provo Twenty-eighth Ward, Provo Utah Stake; Ann Aylett Wood, Butler Thirty-fifth Ward, Salt Lake Wasatch Stake; and Ruth Broadbent Wright, Yalecrest Second Ward, Salt Lake Bonneville Stake.

    Church Department Head

    Keith B. McMullin, former mission president, has been appointed managing director of the Church’s Welfare Services Department, succeeding Bishop Glenn L. Pace, who was sustained during general conference as Second Counselor in the Presiding Bishopric.