Four New Stakes Formed

    “Four New Stakes Formed,” Ensign, Apr. 1975, 76

    Four New Stakes Formed

    Four new stakes have been formed recently, including the first one in Wales, one in Lima, Peru, one in Romford, England, and another in Newcastle-under-Lyme, England.

    Elder Bruce R. McConkie of the Council of the Twelve presided over the formation of the Merthyr Tydfil Wales Stake, which was previously part of the England Bristol Mission. Ralph Pulman was named stake president, with counselors Arnold Jones and Haydn David Morgan.

    The new stake has 2,816 members and includes the Merthyr Tydfil, Cardiff, Swansea, Newport, Gwent, and Cwmbran wards and the Bridgend, Hereford, Caerphilly, Pontypridd, Llanelli, and Milford Haven branches.

    The Lima Peru West Stake, which includes approximately 2,000 members, is presided over by President Manuel Paredes L. His counselors are Isaias Romulo Bravo L. and Juan Jose Joo C.

    The new stake includes the Lima Second, Fourth, Seventh, and Eighth wards, the Callao Ward, the Comas First and Second branches, and the Tahuantinsuyo Branch. It is the second stake in Peru.

    President Arthur James Turvey has been called to preside over the new Romford England Stake. His counselors are Derek John Peake and John Henry Kitsell.

    The new stake includes the Basildon, Ilford, Medway, Romford, and Stratford wards, and the Dartford, Grays, Gravesend, Maidstone, and Orpington branches. It has 2,572 members.

    Elder McConkie also presided over the formation of the Newcastle-under-Lyme England Stake. James Kenneth Cork was called as president with Milton Mason and Gordon William Behaarel as counselors.

    The stake was formed from branches of the England Birmingham Mission, including Wildwood, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Stoke-on-Trent, Chester, Telford, and Burton-on-Trent wards and Biddulph, Crewe, Ellesmere Port, Shrewsbury, and Wrexham branches.

    With the addition of the two new stakes in England, there are currently 15 stakes in that country.