Presidents of the Church

    “Presidents of the Church,” Liahona, Jan. 2011, 10

    Presidents of the Church

    How well do you know the Presidents of the Church? Take this quiz and find out. Answers are below.

    1. After Joseph Smith, who served the shortest time as an Apostle before becoming President of the Church?

    2. Who served for the longest total time as a General Authority?

    3. Who served the longest time as Church President?

    4. Who was the only Church President born outside the United States?

    5. Before President Thomas S. Monson, who was the only Church President to have served as a bishop?

    6. Who served a mission to what is now the Hawaiian Islands when he was only 15?

    7. Who served as the United States Secretary of Agriculture while also serving as an Apostle?

    8. Who was the longest-living President of the Church?

    9. Who broke bones in his arms and legs, accidentally split his foot with an ax, was bitten by a rabid dog, had his legs crushed by falling trees, nearly died of blood poisoning, nearly drowned, nearly froze to death, and survived the wreck of a speeding train?


    Joseph Smith

    Brigham Young

    John Taylor

    Wilford Woodruff

    Lorenzo Snow

    Joseph F. Smith

    Heber J. Grant

    George Albert Smith

    David O. McKay

    Joseph Fielding Smith

    Harold B. Lee

    Spencer W. Kimball

    Ezra Taft Benson

    Howard W. Hunter

    Gordon B. Hinckley

    Thomas S. Monson

    Paintings by Larry Winborg © 1990