Church History Time Line

    “Church History Time Line,” Liahona, Oct. 2006, N2–N3

    Church History Time Line

    Spring 1820: God the Father and Jesus Christ appear to Joseph Smith in the Sacred Grove, beginning the Restoration of the gospel.

    September 21–22, 1823: The angel Moroni appears to Joseph Smith, informing him of an ancient record on golden plates buried in a nearby hill.

    May 15, 1829: Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery receive the Aaronic Priesthood from John the Baptist.

    May–June 1829: Peter, James, and John restore the Melchizedek Priesthood by conferring it on Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery.

    March 1830: The first copies of the Book of Mormon are printed in English, in Palmyra, New York.

    April 6, 1830: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is formally organized, in Fayette, New York.

    February 1835: The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and then the Quorum of the Seventy are organized.

    April 3, 1836: Jesus Christ appears to Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery in the Kirtland Temple to accept the temple. Then Moses, Elias, and Elijah appear to restore priesthood keys.

    March 17, 1842: Joseph Smith organizes the Relief Society in Nauvoo.

    June 27, 1844: Joseph and Hyrum Smith are martyred by a mob in Carthage, Illinois.

    May 1, 1846: The completed Nauvoo Temple is dedicated.

    July 21–24, 1847: The first Latter-day Saints arrive in the Salt Lake Valley.

    August 25, 1878: The first meeting of the Primary is held.

    April 27, 1915: The First Presidency asks members to hold family nights, later called family home evenings.

    1936: The Church welfare program officially begins.

    1947: Church membership reaches one million.

    1950s and 60s: Missionary work expands worldwide.

    September 23, 1995: The First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles issue “The Family: A Proclamation to the World.”

    1997: Church membership passes 10 million, with more members living outside the United States than in it.

    1998: The first small temples are dedicated.

    October 8, 2000: President Gordon B. Hinckley dedicates the Conference Center in Salt Lake City.

    March 31, 2001: President Hinckley announces the Perpetual Education Fund.

    2004: Church membership exceeds 12 million.