previous next

“Contents,” Liahona, Apr. 1999


April 1999

Volume 23, Number 4

On the cover: Front: Christ the Consolator, by Carl Heinrich Bloch/Superstock. Back, from left: The Bitter Cup, by Simon Dewey; photograph by Craig Dimond; He Lives! by Simon Dewey. Background: Jesus Falling beneath the Cross, by Gustave Doré. See “The Price of Discipleship,” page 2.

Inside back cover: The First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Photograph by Acey Harper, from The Mission. Seated, from left: The First Presidency: President Thomas S. Monson, First Counselor; President Gordon B. Hinckley; and President James E. Faust, Second Counselor. Standing, from left: The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles: President Boyd K. Packer, Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles; Elder L. Tom Perry; Elder David B. Haight; Elder Neal A. Maxwell; Elder Russell M. Nelson; Elder Dallin H. Oaks; Elder M. Russell Ballard; Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin; Elder Richard G. Scott; Elder Robert D. Hales; Elder Jeffrey R. Holland; and Elder Henry B. Eyring.