Temple Update
May 1999

“Temple Update,” Ensign, May 1999, 117

Temple Update

Ten New Temples Announced

  • Australia’s fourth temple, the Adelaide Australia Temple, will serve about 7,300 members in three stakes and two districts.

  • Europe’s eighth temple, the Copenhagen Denmark Temple, will serve about 7,700 members in two Danish stakes and two Swedish stakes.

  • Kentucky’s first temple, the Louisville Kentucky Temple, will serve about 36,500 members in 11 stakes in Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio.

  • Oregon’s second temple, the Medford Oregon Temple, will serve about 28,600 members in three California stakes and six Oregon stakes.

  • The Church’s second temple, dedicated in Nauvoo in 1846 and destroyed soon after, will be rebuilt as the Nauvoo Illinois Temple.

  • Mexico’s ninth temple, the Oaxaca Oaxaca Temple (pronounced wah-HAH-kah), will serve about 26,600 members in seven stakes and one district.

  • Oklahoma’s first temple, the Oklahoma City Oklahoma Temple, will serve about 32,000 members in 15 stakes in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas.

  • The Church’s 100th and New York’s second temple, the Palmyra New York Temple, will serve about 18,000 members in the region of the Church’s birthplace.

  • Central America’s second temple, the San José Costa Rica Temple, will serve about 32,000 members in 5 stakes and 17 districts.

  • Mexico’s 10th temple, the Tuxtla Gutiérrez Chiapas Temple, will serve about 19,000 members in five stakes and one district.

Ground Broken for Nine Temples

Groundbreaking ceremonies signaling the start of construction were recently held for the following nine temples:

Edmonton Alberta, Fresno California, Fukuoka Japan, Kona Hawaii, Melbourne Australia, Nashville Tennessee, Oaxaca Oaxaca (Mexico), Raleigh North Carolina, and Tuxtla Gutiérrez Chiapas (Mexico). As of 1 April 1999 the Church had 56 temples in operation and 53 temples under construction or announced, for a total of 109 temples.