New Area Presidency Assignments

Hide Footnotes


“New Area Presidency Assignments,” Ensign, Sept. 1998, 72–73

New Area Presidency Assignments

The First Presidency has announced changes in assignments for Area Presidencies, effective 15 August 1998. All Presidency members are members of the Quorums of the Seventy.

1. North America Northwest: F. Melvin Hammond, President; Rex D. Pinegar, First Counselor; D. Lee Tobler, Second Counselor

2. North America Central: Hugh W. Pinnock, President; Kenneth Johnson, First Counselor; Yoshihiko Kikuchi, Second Counselor

3. North America Northeast: Jay E. Jensen, President; Donald L. Staheli, First Counselor; Gary J. Coleman, Second Counselor

4. North America East: John K. Carmack, President; Loren C. Dunn, First Counselor; W. Don Ladd, Second Counselor

5. North America Southeast: Monte J. Brough, President; Gordon T. Watts, First Counselor; Stephen A. West, Second Counselor

6. North America Southwest: Lynn A. Mickelsen, President; Angel Abrea, First Counselor; Merrill C. Oaks, Second Counselor

7. North America West: John B. Dickson, President; John M. Madsen, First Counselor; Cecil O. Samuelson, Second Counselor

8. Utah North: Alexander B. Morrison, President; Robert K. Dellenbach, First Counselor; John H. Groberg, Second Counselor

9. Utah South: Ben B. Banks, President; Dennis B. Neuenschwander, First Counselor; Neil L. Andersen, Second Counselor

10. Mexico North: Eran A. Call, President; Dale E. Miller, First Counselor; *Tomás Valdés, Second Counselor

11. Mexico South: Carl B. Pratt, President; Richard E. Turley Sr., First Counselor; *Octaviano Tenorio, Second Counselor

12. Central America: William R. Bradford, President; Lynn G. Robbins, First Counselor; *Julio E. Alvarado, Second Counselor

13. South America North: Francisco J. Viñas, President; Robert J. Whetten, First Counselor; *Walter F. González, Second Counselor

14. South America West: Richard J. Maynes, President; Ned B. Roueché, First Counselor; *Juan Uceda, Second Counselor

15. Brazil North: Claudio R. M. Costa, President; J. Kent Jolley, First Counselor; *Irajá B. Soáres, Second Counselor

16. Brazil South: W. Craig Zwick, President; Athos M. Amorím, First Counselor; *Adhemar Damiani, Second Counselor

17. Chile: Dallas N. Archibald, President; Jerald L. Taylor, First Counselor; *Eduardo A. Lamartine, Second Counselor

18. South America South: Carlos H. Amado, President; Richard D. Allred, First Counselor; *Hugo A. Catrón, Second Counselor

19. Africa West: James O. Mason, President; Glenn L. Pace, First Counselor; *Emmanuel O. Opare Sr., Second Counselor

20. Africa Southeast: Dennis E. Simmons, President; Ray H. Wood, First Counselor; *Christoffel Golden Jr., Second Counselor

21. Philippines: Sheldon F. Child, President; Duane B. Gerrard, First Counselor; Val R. Christensen, Second Counselor

22. Pacific Islands: Quentin L. Cook, President; Ronald T. Halverson, First Counselor; Earl M. Monson, Second Counselor

23. Australia/New Zealand: Vaughn J. Featherstone, President; Bruce C. Hafen, First Counselor; *P. Bruce Mitchell, Second Counselor

24. Europe North: Spencer J. Condie, President; William Rolfe Kerr, First Counselor; *John Maxwell, Second Counselor

25. Europe West: Dieter F. Uchtdorf, President; Gene R. Cook, First Counselor; F. Burton Howard, Second Counselor

26. Europe East: Charles Didier, President; F. Enzio Busche, First Counselor; Wayne M. Hancock, Second Counselor

27. Asia North: L. Lionel Kendrick, President; L. Edward Brown, First Counselor; E Ray Bateman, Second Counselor

28. Asia: Cree-L Kofford, President; Richard E. Cook, First Counselor; H. Bryan Richards, Second Counselor