June 1985

“Appointments,” Ensign, June 1985, 80


Temple President

Harlan W. Clark, a Salt Lake City attorney and former mission president in South Africa, has been called as president of the Johannesburg South Africa Temple, expected to be dedicated later this year. His wife, Geraldine Merkley Clark, will serve as temple matron.

Regional Representatives

Joseph Vernon Cook, Jr., a San Mateo, California, physician, has been called as a regional representative for the Hayward and Oakland California Regions. He has previously served as president of the Pacifica and San Francisco California Stakes.

Harold Gordon Hillam, an Idaho Falls, Idaho, orthodontist, has been called as regional representative for the Ammon Idaho and Idaho Falls Idaho Regions. He has previously served as a stake president and mission president.

Burns Roy Sabey, a professor at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, has been called as regional representative for the Big Horn Wyoming, Billings Montana, and Casper Wyoming Regions. He is a former stake president.

Stake Presidents

Anchorage Alaska Stake—R. Dan Farr; Bluffdale Utah Stake (new, from a division of the Riverton Utah Stake)—Michael Val Jeppson; Brigham Young University Eleventh Stake—Robert H. Daines; Brigham Young University Seventh Stake—Walter L. Ames; Brigham Young University Sixth Stake—Erlend D. Peterson; Brigham Young University Twelfth Stake—Horace G. Hilton.

Cincinnati Ohio North Stake (new, from a division of the Cincinnati Ohio Stake)—William Budge Wallis, Jr.; Cincinnati Ohio Stake—George McVey; Ephraim Utah Stake (new, from the Manti Utah Stake)—Joseph C. Nielsen; Ephrata Washington Stake—Keith B. Child; Ft. Lauderdale Florida Stake—Terrence J. Barry.

Las Vegas Nevada Green Valley Stake (new, from a division of the Las Vegas Nevada Paradise and Henderson Nevada West Stakes)—Roger Lee Hunt; Lima Peru San Luis Stake—Rodolfo Maximo Casos; Meeker Colorado Stake—Barry C. Shideler; New Albany Indiana Stake—Ronald Edwin Lund; Nice France Stake—Jacques R. Faudin.

Orem Utah North Stake—W. Ladd Hollist; Orem Utah Northeast Stake (new, from a division of Orem Utah North Stake)—Jerry C. Washburn; Orem Utah Sharon West Stake—David N. Peterson; Park City Utah Stake (new, from a division of the Kamas Utah Stake)—B. Douglas Glad; Puebla Mexico Valsequillo Stake—Angel Viveros Garcia.

Rio de Janeiro Brazil Madureira Stake—Fernando Jose da Rocha Carmargo; Riverton Utah Stake—Monte E. Maynard; Sacramento California Stake—Herbert Theodore Schramm; Salt Lake Ensign Stake—V. Stanley Benfell, Jr.; Salt Lake Winder West Stake—Rex C. Stallings; Santa Ana El Salvador El Molino Stake—Martin H. Mazariego; Sao Jose Dos Campos Brazil Stake (new, from a division of the Sao Paulo Brazil East Stake)—Eric Brito Correa; Sao Paulo Brazil East Stake—Sergio C. Munhoz; Seoul Korea East Stake—Bon Dong Koo.

Snow College Utah Stake (new, from the Manti Utah Stake)—Allen Peter Jacobsen; Tarlac Philippines Stake—Dionisio Publico Arcansalin; Tucson Arizona East Stake—James M. Moeller; Tucson Arizona North Stake—Donald D. Hooks; Tucson Arizona Rincon Stake (new, from a division of the Tucson Arizona, Tucson Arizona North, and Tucson Arizona East Stakes)—Ernest G. Blain; Tucson Arizona Stake—Richard R. Burton.