Presiding Bishopric

Bishop Gérald Caussé, Presiding Bishop
Bishop W. Christopher Waddell, First Counselor
Bishop L. Todd Budge, Second Counselor

The Presiding Bishopric is a council of three men who work under the direction of the First Presidency. They manage such matters as humanitarian aid, welfare programs, tithing and fast offerings, physical facilities, and the organization of membership records, among others. They also travel frequently to minister to Church members around the world.

In addition, the Presiding Bishopric presides over the Aaronic Priesthood in the Church. Because most Aaronic Priesthood holders are young men, members of the Presiding Bishopric work with the Young Men General Presidency to support the young men of the Church in their priesthood duties.

The First Presidency calls the Presiding Bishop and chooses two men to serve as counselors. All three members of the Presiding Bishopric hold the title of bishop. For many years, members of the Presiding Bishopric served for life; today, Presiding Bishoprics serve for shorter terms.

The first bishop of the Church was called in 1831, one year after the Church’s organization. The bishop’s primary responsibilities included managing the Church’s finances and property, caring for the poor, and storing surplus goods for times of need. The Presiding Bishopric now performs similar duties for the Church as a whole. In addition, local bishops care for the poor and needy and preside over the Aaronic Priesthood in their congregations.