Nine New Missions Announced
June 1979

“Nine New Missions Announced,” Ensign, June 1979, 76

Nine New Missions Announced

The creation of nine new missions was announced in March, bringing the total worldwide to 175.

The new missions are the Taiwan T’aichung, Philippines Quezon City, Korea Seoul West, Chile Vina del Mar, Brazil Recife, Venezuela Maracaibo, Puerto Rico San Juan, Mississippi Jackson, and Connecticut Hartford.

The Taiwan T‘aichung Mission was created from the Taiwan Taipei and Taiwan Kaohsiung missions. No stakes are in this new mission, located in an area of 5.4 million nonmembers and 1,882 members.

A division of the Philippines Manila Mission resulted in the new Philippines Quezon City Mission. It includes three stakes and covers an area of 16.1 million nonmembers and 10,236 members.

The Korea Seoul West Mission was formed from a division of the Korea Seoul Mission. The boundaries of the new mission include 14.7 million nonmembers, and 3,883 members in one stake.

The western part of the provinces of Atacama, Coquimbo, Aconcugua, and Valparaiso are in the new Chile Vina del Mar Mission. Some 1.9 million nonmembers and 9,100 members live in the area.

The new Recife Brazil Mission was formed with the division of the Rio de Janeiro Mission. No stakes are within the mission boundaries, which include 35 million nonmembers and 2,630 members.

The division of the Venezuela Caracas Mission resulted in the creation of the Venezuela Maracaibo Mission. Some 7.5 million nonmembers and 2,141 members live within mission boundaries. No stakes are in the mission.

The Puerto Rico San Juan Mission was formed from a division of the Florida Ft. Lauderdale Mission. The new mission includes the Dominican Republic, the Antilles Islands south to and including Granada, and Puerto Rico. Four languages—English, Spanish, French, and Dutch—are spoken in the mission, which has 9.6 million nonmembers and 1,892 members within its boundaries. The mission includes no stakes.

The division of the Louisiana Baton Rouge Mission formed the Mississippi Jackson Mission, which includes northern Louisiana, a part of Arkansas, and most of Mississippi. Some 2.8 million nonmembers and 9,541 members live within the boundaries, which include three stakes.

Two missions were divided to form the new Connecticut Hartford Mission. Parts of the New York Rochester and the Massachusetts Boston missions are included in the new mission, which has a population of 5.5 million nonmembers, and 8,493 members in three stakes.

Map of the world