New Missions Bring Total to 160
July 1978

“New Missions Bring Total to 160,” Ensign, July 1978, 76–77

New Missions Bring Total to 160

The First Presidency has announced the formation of six new missions, bringing the worldwide total to 160.

The new missions are in Michigan, Washington state, California, Wisconsin, Mexico, and Peru.

The Michigan Dearborn Mission is being created from a division of the Michigan Lansing Mission. The Washington Spokane Mission, which will include Tacoma, Olympia, western Washington, and northern Idaho, is formed from a division of the Washington Seattle Mission. The California San Jose Mission is being created by a division of the existing California Oakland Mission. The Wisconsin Milwaukee Mission comes from the Minnesota Minneapolis and Illinois Chicago missions. The Mexico City Mexico North Mission is formed from a division of the Mexico City Mexico Mission. The Peru Arequipa Mission is being formed as Peru’s two missions—Peru Lima North and Peru Lima South—are divided.

Newly called mission presidents and their assigned missions are:

L. Flake Rogers, of Provo, Utah, to the Wisconsin Milwaukee Mission.

Alva C. Snow, of Roosevelt, Utah, to the Washington Seattle Mission.

Lysle R. Cahoon, of Bountiful, Utah, to the California San Jose Mission.

Glenn T. Baird, of Logan, Utah, to the Michigan Lansing Mission.

Bill B. Cowser, of Melbourne, Australia, to the New Zealand Auckland Mission.

Previously called mission presidents whose assignments are being changed are:

F. Briton McConkie, from California Ventura Mission to California Los Angeles.

William R. Horton, from Michigan Lansing Mission to Michigan Dearborn Mission.

Norword C. McKoy, from Washington Seattle Mission to Washington Spokane Mission.

Collins E. Jones is being released as president of the New Zealand Auckland Mission.