Area Presidencies

An Area Presidency is a group of three priesthood leaders who oversee the Church in a specific part of the world. They work under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, and they live in the area where they serve.

The Area President is usually a General Authority Seventy assigned to the area; two counselors serve with him. These may be General Authorities or Area Seventies. Members of the Area Presidency travel often within their area to teach and support Church members, missionaries, and leaders.

Area Presidencies are an important link between the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and Church leaders and members who live in each area. These presidencies were first created in the 1980s when the growth of the Church made it impractical for the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles to respond directly to the unique needs of the many areas of a growing worldwide Church. Area Presidencies are uniquely positioned to help build up the Church and provide valuable counsel and leadership to Church members around the world.

View or download a chart of area presidencies.
View or download a chart of area presidencies (effective August 2021).

Last Updated On 21 Jun 2021