President Monson Announces Five New Temples during April 2017 Conference

  • 2 April 2017

President Thomas S. Monson speaks during the Sunday morning session of the April 2017 general conference.

President Thomas S. Monson announced five new temples during the Sunday morning session of the 187th Annual General Conference: Brasilia, Brazil; Manila, Philippines; Nairobi, Kenya; Pocatello, Idaho; and Saratoga Springs, Utah.

At present, there are 155 temples in operation across the globe. Three more temples are under renovation, and 13 are under construction. Following Sunday’s announcement to build five new temples, there are now 21 temples pending construction.

New temples are scheduled for dedication this year in Paris, France; Tucson, Arizona; Meridian, Idaho; and Cedar City, Utah. The Idaho Falls Idaho Temple will be rededicated in June.

Meanwhile, construction continues on future temples in Rome, Italy; Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo; Barranquilla, Colombia; Concepcion, Chile; Durban, South Africa; Fortaleza, Brazil; and Lisbon, Portugal.

The Church has also announced plans to begin building temples in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; and Arequipa, Peru.