October 2015 General Conference News and Announcements

  • 3 October 2015

Find a summary of news and announcements from the 185th Semiannual General Conference of the Church on October 3–4, 2015.

Quorum of the Twelve Apostles

Elder Ronald A. Rasband, Elder Gary E. Stevenson, and Elder Dale G. Renlund were named to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles during the Saturday afternoon session of general conference, becoming the 98th, 99th, and 100th Apostles to be called since the organization of the Church in 1830.

Elder Ronald A. Rasband was serving as the senior President in the Presidency of the Seventy at the time of his call to the Twelve. He became a General Authority of the Church in April of 2000.

Elder Gary E. Stevenson had been serving as the Presiding Bishop of the Church since March 2012 and previously served in the First Quorum of the Seventy, to which he was called in 2008. Elder Stevenson will continue in his position as Presiding Bishop for what is expected to be a short period until his replacement is named.

Elder Dale G. Renlund had served in the First Quorum of the Seventy since April 2009 prior to being named to the Quorum of the Twelve.

The new Apostles spoke at press conference Saturday afternoon. Each will address the worldwide Church audience during the Sunday morning session of general conference. They will be ordained this week and begin their service in the Quorum of the Twelve immediately.

General Authority Seventies

Elders Koichi Aoyagi, Bruce A. Carlson, and Don R. Clarke were released as General Authority Seventies and granted emeritus status.

Elder Serhii A. Kovalov was released as an Area Seventy.