Museum Announces Winners of Visitors’ Choice Awards for Art Competition

  • 3 August 2016

We Are Come to Worship Him, by Meagan Ruth Getz.

The Church History Museum has announced the winners of the Visitors’ Choice Awards for the 10th International Art Competition: “Tell Me the Stories of Jesus,” currently on display in the museum.
Drawing from 944 submissions from 40 countries, the exhibit opened September 30, 2015, and features the works of 97 Latter-day Saint artists from across the world. These artists’ works were chosen by a five-member panel of jurists.

Nearing the close of the exhibit, another jury—museum visitors—has voiced its opinion on favorite artworks from the exhibition, resulting in the Visitors’ Choice Awards. The voting, which took place from the opening of the exhibit through June 30, 2016, was gathered through in-gallery kiosks and online voting at the Church History Museum’s website. In total, more than 12,000 votes were cast, with two votes allowed per visitor.
The six top Visitors’ Choice Award winners are:

Bethany Bates, At His Feet

Meagan Ruth Getz, We Are Come to Worship Him

Mary Hutchings, Then Sings My Soul

Clark Kelley Price, Truly This Man Was the Son of God

Kelly Lane Pugh, The Savior

Dana Mario Wood, Let Us Adore Him

The 10th International Art Competition will be officially closed at the end of business on Saturday, August 13, 2016. More than 350,000 visitors have come through the museum while this exhibition has been on display and have enjoyed these unique works of art. There is still time to visit and view these exceptional art pieces, in person or online.
The International Art Competition showcases the breadth and diversity of styles, techniques, media, and voices of Latter-day Saint art. Every three years, the theme-based competition encourages submissions from LDS artists across the world. 

The 11th International Art Competition theme, “Meditations on Belief,” has set the stage for the 2019 exhibition. The theme reflects the promise made in Psalm 77:11–12, “I will remember the works of the Lord: surely I will remember thy wonders of old. I will meditate also of all thy work, and talk of thy doings.” Makers of all types of cultural and aesthetic traditions, styles, and art media are encouraged to create works of art that express personal reflections on this theme. Submissions will be accepted between February 1 and June 1, 2018.