Elder Craig C. Christensen Called to Presidency of Seventy

Contributed By By Melissa Merrill, Church News and Events

  • 5 May 2012

Elder Craig C. Christensen has been called to the Presidency of the Seventy, effective August 1, 2012.

The First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has announced the call of Elder Craig C. Christensen to the Presidency of the Seventy, effective August 1, 2012. He will succeed Elder Jay E. Jensen, who will be released and receive emeritus status at the October general conference.

The Presidency of the Seventy consists of seven members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy who are called by the First Presidency and are given authority to preside over the Quorums of the Seventy.

Members of the Seventy are called to “preach the gospel, and to be especial witnesses unto … all the world” (D&C 107:25). They are also “to act in the name of the Lord, under the direction of the Twelve or the traveling high council, in building up the church and regulating all the affairs of the same in all nations” (D&C 107:34).

Under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, the Presidency of the Seventy supervises priesthood leaders in the United States and Canada. With the change in the presidency, the First Presidency announced the following assignments, also effective August 1, 2012:

At the time of his call to the Presidency of the Seventy, Elder Christensen was serving as the Executive Director of the Priesthood Department. He was sustained as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy on April 5, 2008, and prior to that—from October 2002—served in the Second Quorum of the Seventy.