88 Temples Are Now Closed

Contributed By Sarah Jane Weaver, Church News editor

  • 23 March 2020

The Chicago Illinois Temple.

As the Church continues to take precautionary measures against the spread of COVID-19, the list of temple closures on Newsroom is frequently being updated.

As of Sunday evening, March 22, the following 88 temples are temporarily closed:

United States and Canada

Columbia River Washington Temple.

  • Baton Rouge Louisiana Temple

  • Bountiful Utah Temple

  • Chicago Illinois Temple

  • Columbia River Washington Temple

  • Columbus Ohio Temple

  • Detroit Michigan Temple

  • Fresno California Temple

  • Hartford Connecticut Temple

  • Kansas City Missouri Temple

  • Las Vegas Nevada Temple

  • Los Angeles California Temple

  • Louisville Kentucky Temple

  • Manhattan New York Temple

    Nauvoo Illinois Temple.

  • Montreal Quebec Temple

  • Nauvoo Illinois Temple

  • Newport Beach California Temple

  • Oakland California Temple

  • Palmyra New York Temple

  • Philadelphia Pennsylvania Temple

  • Portland Oregon Temple

  • Regina Saskatchewan Temple

  • Redlands California Temple

  • Reno Nevada Temple

  • Rexburg Idaho Temple

  • Sacramento California Temple

  • San Diego California Temple

  • Seattle Washington Temple

    Barranquilla Colombia Temple.

  • St. Louis Missouri Temple

  • Toronto Ontario Temple

  • Tucson Arizona Temple

Latin America

  • Arequipa Peru Temple

  • Asunción Paraguay Temple

  • Barranquilla Colombia Temple

  • Bogota Colombia Temple

  • Buenos Aires Argentina Temple

  • Campinas Brazil Temple

  • Caracas Venezuela Temple

  • Cochabamba Bolivia Temple

  • Córdoba Argentina Temple

  • Curitiba Brazil Temple

  • Fortaleza Brazil Temple

    Fortaleza Brazil Temple.

  • Guadalajara Mexico Temple

  • Guatemala City Guatemala Temple

  • Guayaquil Ecuador Temple

  • Lima Peru Temple

  • Manaus Brazil Temple

  • Panama City Panama Temple

  • Porto Alegre Brazil Temple

  • Quetzaltenango Guatemala Temple

  • Recife Brazil Temple

  • São Paulo Brazil Temple

  • San Salvador El Salvador Temple

  • Santiago Chile Temple

    São Paulo Brazil Temple.

  • Tegucigalpa Honduras Temple

  • Trujillo Peru Temple


  • Port-au-Prince Haiti Temple

  • Santo Domingo Dominican Republic Temple


  • Bern Switzerland Temple

  • Copenhagen Denmark Temple 

  • Frankfurt Germany Temple

  • Freiberg Germany Temple

  • Halifax Nova Scotia Temple

  • Helsinki Finland Temple

  • Kyiv Ukraine Temple

  • Lisbon Portugal Temple

  • London England Temple

    Helsinki Finland Temple.

  • Madrid Spain Temple

  • Paris France Temple

  • Preston England Temple

  • Rome Italy Temple

  • Stockholm Sweden Temple

  • The Hague Netherlands Temple


  • Cebu City Philippines Temple

  • Fukuoka Japan Temple

  • Manila Philippines Temple

  • Sapporo Japan Temple

  • Seoul Korea Temple

  • Taipei Taiwan Temple


  • Aba Nigeria Temple

  • Accra Ghana Temple

  • Kinshasa Democratic Republic of the Congo Temple

    Adelaide Australia Temple.


  • Apia Samoa Temple

  • Papeete Tahiti Temple


  • Adelaide Australia Temple

  • Brisbane Australia Temple

  • Melbourne Australia Temple

  • Perth Australia Temple

  • Sydney Australia Temple

The Hong Kong China Temple, Tokyo Japan Temple, Hamilton New Zealand Temple, Mesa Arizona Temple, Washington D.C. Temple, Salt Lake Temple, and St. George Temple continue to remain closed for renovation. The current status of each temple can be found on the individual temple pages.

For recently announced adjustments to temple work, see these FAQs.