2011 Mission Boundary Changes

  • 2 May 2011

To better align resources to changing needs, the Church created five new missions and combined others with neighboring missions in 2011. The number of missions worldwide is 340.

The Church has created the following missions:

The Benin Cotonou Mission—comprised of Benin and Togo—was created from part of the former Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission.

The Mexico Mexico City Southeast Mission comes from the realignment of the Mexico Mexico City East, Mexico Mexico City Northwest, and Mexico Mexico City South Missions.

The Peru Chiclayo Mission came from the Peru Piura and Peru Trujillo Missions.

A division of the Philippines Manila and Philippines Quezon City Missions created the Philippines Quezon City North Mission.

The Zambia Lusaka Mission was divided out of the Zimbabwe Harare Mission and will include the country of Malawi.

The following missions were consolidated:

The Canada Toronto East and Canada Toronto West were combined to become the Canada Toronto Mission.

The Connecticut Hartford Mission was absorbed into the Massachusetts Boston Mission.

The Florida Jacksonville, Florida Tallahassee, Georgia Atlanta, and South Carolina Columbia Missions were realigned to each include a part of the former Georgia Macon Mission.

The Portugal Porto Mission became part of the Portugal Lisbon Mission.

The France Paris and France Toulouse Missions were realigned to include the Switzerland Geneva Mission area. (In addition, the headquarters of the France Toulouse Mission were moved to Lyon, and the name of the mission was changed to France Lyon.)

The El Salvador San Salvador East and El Salvador San Salvador West/Belize Missions were realigned. The East mission is now the El Salvador San Salvador Mission, and the West is now the El Salvador Santa Ana/Belize Mission.