Quorums of the Seventy

THERE ARE CURRENTLY EIGHT QUORUMS of the Seventy. Members of Quorums of the Seventy are often referred to simply as “Seventies.” Seventies are called to serve as special witnesses of Christ, proclaim the gospel, and build up the Church throughout the world. They work under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

General Authority Seventies serve in the Presidency of the Seventy, in Area Presidencies, and in other headquarters administrative functions. Under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, they travel frequently to meet with and teach Church leaders, missionaries, and members of the Church in local congregations.

General Authority Seventies have authority to serve anywhere in the world. Area Seventies' authority is generally limited to the area where they serve.

The Presidency of the Seventy is drawn from the General Authority Seventies and presides over all quorums of the Seventy.

General Authority Seventies

Learn about the Presiding Bishopric