Our Presidents

Timeline of Young Women General Presidents

Heeding President Brigham Young’s prophetic call, young women began organizing branches of the Young Ladies’ Mutual Improvement Association within their own wards. There was no central leadership for the growing organization. In 1880, to fulfill a need for unity and order, President John Taylor called Sister Elmina S. Taylor to be the first general president of the Young Ladies’ Mutual Improvement Association.

Over the years, each Young Women general president kept her own “lamp trimmed and burning,” bringing her unique strengths, experiences, and testimony to love and serve the young women under her care. They taught young women how to gain living testimonies of Heavenly Father, Jesus Christ, and the restored gospel. They helped young women “come unto Christ” and be worthy and prepared to receive the ordinances of the temple.

Elmina Shepard Taylor

Elmina Shepard Taylor (1880–1904)

Martha Horne Tingey

Martha Horne Tingey (1905–1929)

Ruth May Fox

Ruth May Fox (1929–1937)

Lucy Grant Cannon

Lucy Grant Cannon (1937–1948)

Bertha Stone Reeder

Bertha Stone Reeder (1948–1961)

Florence Smith Jacobsen

Florence Smith Jacobsen (1961–1972)

Ruth Hardy Funk

Ruth Hardy Funk (1972–1978)

Elaine Anderson Cannon

Elaine Anderson Cannon (1978–1984)

Ardeth Greene Kapp

Ardeth Greene Kapp (1984–1992)

Janette Callister Hales Beckham

Janette Callister Hales Beckham (1992–1997)

Margaret Dyreng Nadauld

Margaret Dyreng Nadauld (1997–2002)

Susan Winder Tanner

Susan Winder Tanner (2002–2008)

Elaine Schwartz Dalton

Elaine Schwartz Dalton (2008–2013)

Bonnie L. Oscarson

Bonnie L. Oscarson (2013–2018)

Bonnie H. Cordon

Bonnie H. Cordon (2018–present)